Nevada Golf Sue May Rules
By Sue May
Sue May Rules
Q: I played in my Club Championship last week and would like you to clarify a ruling for me. My fellow competitor lifted his ball
to identify it without announcing his intention to anyone. He also failed to mark his ball when he lifted it and then cleaned the
ball more than was necessary for it to be identified. He received a one-stroke penalty. I thought it should be one stroke for each
violation of the Rules.
A: No. In this case the player incurs a penalty of one stroke for failing to act in accordance with Rule 12-2. An additional penalty
under Rule 20-1 or Rule 21 is just not justified.
Q: Can you tell me when a ball is considered embedded in ground and I would receive embedded ball relief?
A: A ball is deemed to be embedded in the ground only if:
The impact of the ball landing has created a pitch-mark in the ground,
the ball is in its own pitch mark, and part of the ball is below the level of the
ground. Provided that these three requirements are met, a ball does not necessarily have to touch the soil to be considered
embedded (e.g., grass, loose impediments or the like may intervene between the ball and the soil).
Any doubt as to whether a ball is embedded should be resolved against the player.
Q: I hit my tee shot into a deep canyon. Was it proper for me to deem it unplayable and play another ball from the tee under the
stroke- and-distance option or did I need to find my ball in order to declare it unplayable?
A: You may proceed under the stroke-and-distance option without finding your ball. However, if you were taking an unplayable
and wanted to use either of your other two options under Rule 28, you would have to find your ball.